NOTTINGHAM CITY COUNCIL

AREA 8 COMMITTEE

MINUTES

of meeting held on 16 MAY 2012

at Loxley House, Station Street from 7.01pm to 8.03pm

Present

✓ Councillor Malcolm✓ Councillor Heaton(Chair)(Vice-Chair)

- ✓ Councillor Edwards
 ✓ Councillor Gibson
- ✓ Councillor Jeffery Councillor Packer
- ✓ Councillor Spencer
- ✓ Councillor Steel
- ✓ indicates present at meeting

Community Representatives and Citizens

Mrs C Ashton - Good Companions

Ms D Clausen - Arkwright Meadows Community Gardens

Mrs J Dobson - Meadows Partnership Trust (MPT)

Mr N Fearn - Enthusiasm Trust

Mr C Mackie - Silverdale Community Association

Ms P Nicholson - New Beginnings

Mr J Potter - Resident

Mr P Roberts - Nobel Road Residents' and Tenants Association

Mr A Rule - Wilford Community Group

Mr D Shaw - New Meadows Tenants & Residents Ass (NEMTRA)

Mr R Shukla - Meadows Cricket Club

Mrs M Spencer - Old Meadows Tenants & Residents Association (OMTRA)

Mr W Stewart - Queen's Walk Community Association

Ms D Whitworth - Meadows Partnership Trust

City Council Colleagues and Others in Attendance

Ms D Holmes - South Locality Manager

Miss R Mottram - Constitutional Services Officer
Mr R Kalsi - Constitutional Services Officer

Mr A Ghaffar - South Neighbourhood Action Officer
Mr P Singh - South Neighbourhood Action Officer

Please note: except where otherwise indicated, all items discussed at the meeting were the subject of a report which had been circulated beforehand.

1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR

RESOLVED that Councillor Malcolm be appointed Chair for the municipal year 2012/13.

2 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR

RESOLVED that Councillor Heaton be appointed Vice-Chair for the municipal year 2012/13.

3 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor J Packer, Reverend S Clarke, R Nettleship (Carter's Education Foundation), N Judd (Nordtra) and M Daly (Meadows Dance & Social Group).

4 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

No declarations of interests were made.

5 MINUTES

- (a) RESOLVED that, the minutes of the last meeting of Clifton and Wilford Area Committee held on 14 March 2012, copies of which had been circulated, were adopted and signed by the Chair;
- (b) RESOLVED that, the minutes of the last meeting of Bridge, Dunkirk and Lenton Area Committee held on 14 March 2012, copies of which had been circulated, were adopted and signed by the Chair;
- (c) Matters arising:-
- (i) Community representatives commented that the approved funding noted at the Clifton and Wilford Area Committee on 14th March for Game On required further discussion around possible links to the Olympics. It was confirmed that this would be addressed with the South Locality Manager in due course.
- (ii) Responding to comments raised at the Committee, the Chair confirmed that discussion around Diamond Jubilee events should be discussed at the Area Committee in September allowing for a possible plantation in October.
- (iii) The Committee recorded their thanks to those who had served Neighbourhood Services and were now no longer in post, with particular mention to Elaine Stenson and Steve Harrison.

6 APPOINTMENT OF COMMUNITY REPRESENTATIVES TO AREA COMMMITTEE

(Report of Director of Neighbourhood Services)

Mr Ghaffar presented a report detailing the formal appointment of Community Representatives from Bridge and Clifton (North and South) Wards onto Area 8 Committee as required by the Terms of Reference for the Role of Area Committee Community Representatives (presented to Exec Board in July 2010).

It was reported that nomination forms were sent out along with the Terms of Reference for the Role of Area Committee Representatives to various groups and organisations on the basis that it provides a geographical representation of the ward. Completed forms were returned and were listed in Appendix 1 to the report. The following Community Representatives were appointed,

Representative & Ward
Margaret Spencer (Bridge)
Bashir Latif (Bridge)
Dee Whitworth (Bridge)
Jonathan Hughes (Bridge)
David Shaw (Bridge)
William Stewart (Bridge)
Mary Daly (Bridge)
Dinah Clausen (Bridge)
Andrew Rule (Clifton N)
Roy Nettleship (Clifton N)
Georgina Wyer (Clifton N)
Colin Mackie (Clifton N)
Robert Mosley (Clifton N)
Dennis Stevens (Clifton S)
Patricia Nicholson (Clifton S)
Emma Jordan (Clifton S)
Carole Moseley (Clifton S)
Clare Ashton (Clifton S)

In response to concerns that the right of residents to speak at the Committee would be limited, the Chair confirmed that in order to ensure business items were discussed appropriately, it was important that members of the public aired their views through Community Representatives. The Committee emphasised the existence of other ways in which members of the public could discuss concerns with elected members.

RESOLVED that, the Area Committee formally appoint the Area Community Representatives from Bridge and Clifton (North and South) Wards as highlighted in Appendix 1 to the report, to the Area Committee for the municipal year 2012/13.

It was recorded that both Councillor Steel and Councillor Spencer voted against the proposal.

7 AREA CAPITAL FUND – 2011/13 PROGRAMME

(Report of Director of Neighbourhoods and Communities)

Mr Singh presented a report which provided details on the latest spend proposals under the Area Capital Fund including highways and footways. It was noted that the resources were allocated from the Nottingham City Council general fund, the Local Transport Plan (LTP), from the Housing revenue Account and had to be spent by March 2013.

RESOLVED

- (1) that the monies available to Bridge, Clifton North and Clifton South Wards as outlined in Appendix 1 to the report, be noted;
- (2) that the Area Capital programme of schemes for Clifton North Ward, as set out in Appendix 1 to the report, be approved;
- (3) that the Area Capital programme of schemes for Clifton South Ward as set out in Appendix 1 to the report, be approved.
- 8 <u>COMMUNITY SMALL GRANTS PROGRAMME</u> (Director of Neighbourhoods and Communities)

This item was withdrawn.

9 **FUTURE MEETING ARRANGEMENTS**

(a) COMMITTEE TITLE, LOCATION AND TIME

Consideration was given to establishing a new title following changes to the committee boundary. During discussion a number of alternatives were considered and following a vote it was agreed that the title of Area 8 be formally adopted.

During discussion consideration was given to a suitable location for the Committee. Consideration was given to potential transport issues for members of the public and it was agreed that two meetings should be held in both Bridge and in Clifton with the next meeting scheduled for Clifton Leisure Centre. The Committee agreed that the most appropriate course of action would be to review the situation again in twelve months.

Following discussion it was agreed that the meetings would commence at 7pm to allow for all members of the committee to attend.

(b) **FUTURE DATES**

RESOLVED that the Committee meet at 7pm on the following Wednesdays:-

<u>2012</u> <u>2013</u>

12 September 13 February

14 November